PIMS/Accelerate Canada Focus Period on Partial Differential Equations

OverviewThe core of the focus period consisted of the following six workshops. Two related workshops ran at the Banff International Research Station (BIRS) during that period. A summer school with 12 mini-courses ran in conjunction with the program.

Please see the website maintained by Stephen Gustafson at


8th Pacific Northwest PDE Meeting
Organisers: Richard Froese (UBC), Nassif Ghoussoub (UBC)
At UBC: January 17, 2009

Workshop on Theory and Applications of Classical and Quantum Kinetic Theory
Organisers: Jean Dolbeault (University of Paris Dauphine), Irene M. Gamba (UTexas), Reinhard Illner (UVic), Ansgar Juengel (Vienna University of Technology)
At BIRS, Banff: June 21-26 2009

Workshop on “Topics in Kinetic Theory”
Organisers: Pierre Degond (Toulouse University), Yan Guo (Brown), Reinhard Illner (UVic), Axel Klar (Kauserslautern)
At UVic: June 29-July 3, 2009

Workshop on “Asymptotic analysis in the calculus of variations and PDEs”
Organisers: R. Choksi (SFU), O. Druet (CNRS, ENS Lyon and PIMS)
At UBC: July 6-10, 2009

Workshop on “Multiscale Analysis of Self Organization in Biology”
Organisers: Thomas Hillen (UAlberta), Benoit Perthame (Laboratoire J. L. Lions, University Pierre et Marie Curie)
At BIRS, Banff: July 12-17, 2009

Workshop on “Analysis of nonlinear PDEs and free boundary problems: Applications to homogenization”
Organisers: L. A. Caffarelli (UTexas), A. Oberman (SFU), A. Mellet (UMaryland), P. E. Souganidis (UChicago)
At UBC: July 20-24, 2009

Workshop on New Connections Between Differential and Random Turn Games, PDE's and Image Processing.
Organisers: R. Choksi (SFU), L.C. Evans (Berkeley), R. Kohn (NYU), A. Oberman (SFU)
At UBC: July 27-31, 2009

Workshop on Regularity problems in hydrodynamics
Organisers: Tai-peng Tsai (UBC), Vladimir Sverak (Minnesota)
At UBC: August 3-7, 2009

Analysis of nonlinear wave equations and applications in engineering.
Organisers: James Colliander (UToronto), Michael Weinstein (Columbia), Vadim Zharnitsky (UIllinois Urbana-Champaign)
At BIRS, Banff: August 10-14, 2009

Workshop on Nonlinear dispersive and geometric evolution problems: singularities and asymptotics
Organisers: J. Colliander (UToronto), S. Gustafson (UBC)
At: UBC: August 17-21, 2009,

Visitors to the PDE Focus Period Summer 2009
Name Affiliation Arrival Departure
Hakan Andreasson University of Gothenburg June 27 July 4
Anton Arnold Vienna University of Technology June 21 July 7
Ioannis Athanasopoulos University of Crete June 19 July 24
Andrea Braides Universita degli Study di Roma Tor Vergata July 6 July 13
Yann Brenier Université de Nice-Sophie Antipolis July 19 August 11
Luis Caffarelli University of Texas at Houston July 20 July 24
Pierre Cardaliaguet Université de Brest July 19 July 29
Antonin Chambolle École Polytechnique July 19 July 31
Stéphane Cordier Université d'Orléans June 28 July 5
Francesca Da Lio University of Padova July 17 July 24
Pierre Degond Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) July 17 July 24
Jose Carrillo de la Plata Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona June 28 July 17
Nicolas Dirr University of Bath July 18 July 25
Jean Dolbeault Université Paris Dauphine June 21 July 17
Italo Capuzzo Dolcetta Università Roma La Sapienza July 18 July 24
Pierpaolo Esposito Università degli Studi Roma Tre July 5 July 25
Klemens Fellner University of Cambridge June 27 July 5
Irene Fonseca University of Minnesota July 5 July 9
Mi-Ho Giga University of Tokyo July 22 August 7
Changfeng Gui University of Connecticut July 1 August 1
Cyril Imbert Université Paris-Dauphine July 18 July 24
Hitoshi Ishii WASEDA University July 20 July 25
Robert Jensen Loyola University Chicago July 24 August 1
Robert Jerrard University of Toronto July 5 July 11
Ansgar Jungel Vienna University of Technology June 21 July 3
Petri Juutinen University of Jyväskylä July 25 July 31
Bernd Kawohl University of Cologne July 12 August 1
Robert Kohn New York University July 26 July 31
Andrea Malchiodi SISSA July 5 July 10
Simona Mancini Université d'Orléans June 28 July 5
Juan Jose Manfredi University of Pittsburgh July 26 August 1
Florian Mehats Université de Rennes 1 June 21 July 9
Luc Mieussens Université Bordeaux 1 June 27 July 3
Robert Mills Strain III Princeton University June 21 August 8
Phil Morrison University of Texas June 21 July 3
Stefan Müller Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences July 6 July 10
Barbara Niethammer University of Oxford July 4 July 11
James Nolen Duke University July 18 July 25
Frank Pacard Université Paris 12 July 4 July 11
Mark Peletier Technische Universiteit Eindhoven July 5 July 10
Yuval Peres University of California Berkeley July 26 July 29
Arshak Petrosyan Purdue University July 19 July 24
Tristan Rivière Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) July 4 July 24
Frederic Robert Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis July 5 July 21
Russell Schwab University of Texas at Austin July 18 July 25
Eric Séré Univerisité Paris Dauphine July 5 July 11
Sylvia Serfaty Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences July 27 July 31
Scott Sheffield MIT July 26 July 31
Henrik Shahgholian KTH Royal Institute of Technology July 20 July 23
Yannick Sire Université Paul Cézanne July 19 July 24
P.E. Souganidis University of Texas at Austin July 12 July 30
Peter Sternberg Indiana University July 6 July 10
Vitali Vougalter University of Toronto June 28 July 4
Jack Xin University of Köln July 19 July 22
Yifeng Yu University of Texas at Austin July 18 August 1
Andrej Zlatos University of Chicago July 19 July 26
Scientific Program Committee

Chair: Nassif Ghoussoub (UBC)
Luis Caffarelli (Texas)
Jim Colliander (Toronto)
Rustum Choksi (SFU)
Olivier Druet (CNRS, UBC and Lyon)
Craig Evans (Berkeley)
Yan Guo (Brown)
Stephen Gustafson (UBC)
Reinhard Illner (Victoria)
Robert Kohn (NYU)
Antoine Mellet (UBC)
Adam Oberman (SFU)
Takis Souganidis (Texas)
Vladimir Sverak (University of Minnesota)
Tai-Peng Tsai (UBC)