Mathematical Modeling

2006 2008


The primary focus of the proposed CRG is mathematical modeling driven by biological applications. The goal is to promote research and cooperation both within specific research areas and across different areas of application.

In keeping with the interdisciplinary nature of the rapidly developing field of Mathematical Biology and the specific areas discussed below, this CRG aims to provide avenues for interaction between theoretical, clinical and experimental researchers, something not always feasible in the context of large discipline-focused national and international society meetings. In addition, and arguably fundamental to the continuation of this valuable trend of cross-fertilization, it will give young mathematicians (undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral fellows) an opportunity to interact with both theoreticians involved in experimental collaborations as well as with experimentalists themselves. This kind of interaction is a crucial step in interdisciplinary career development and is one that is rarely available to students due to the departmentally focused nature of most educational and training programs.

We propose three themes, reflecting the interests of team members as well as emerging opportunities for research at the mathematics-biology interface.



  • Olivier Bertrand
  • Christoph Borgers
  • Kevin Catt
  • Bard Ermentrout
  • Jack L. Feldman
  • Yoshikazu Isomura
  • Eugene Izhikevich
  • Leslie Kay
  • Nancy Kopell
  • Sue Moenter
  • Urs Ribary
  • Horacio Rotstein
  • Ilya A. Rybak
  • Bill Troy
  • Martin Wechselberger


PIMS Distinguished Chairs and Visitors

Professor Michael Overton
Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University
Professor Michael Overton from New York University (Courant Institute) will spend his sabbatical at UBC in the fall of 2007, as a PIMS Distinguished Visitor. Dr. Overton is a prominent distinguished scholar whose research interests span Optimization of Eigenvalues of Nonsymmetric Matrices and Roots of Polynomials, Semidefinite Programming and Eigenvalue Optimization, and several more areas. He serves on several editorial boards and has received a number of honours for his research accomplishments.

Past Visitors

Arpita Upadhyaya (University of Maryland)

  • April 26, 2006 (Math Biology Seminar, UBC)

  • April 28, 2006 (Center for Cell Dynamics Seminar, Friday Harbor Labs, Univeristy of Washington)

  • Robert Owens (Département de mathématiques et de statistique, Université de Montréal)

  • August 1, 2006 (Fluid Mechanics Seminar, UBC)

  • Artie Sherman ( (National Institutes of Health, USA)

  • September 12-14 (Math Biology Seminar, UBC)

  • Alex Mogilner (University of California, Davis)

  • September 13, 2006 (Math Biology Seminar, UBC)

  • David Lloyd (University of Surrey, Guildford)

  • September 13-16 (Math Biology Seminar at UBC, SCAIM Seminar)

  • Michael Gilchrist (U. Tennessee)

  • UBC, September 16-30, 2006, March 12-19, 2007

  • Richard Bertram (Florida State University)

  • September 20, 2006 (Math Biology Seminar, UBC)

  • Kevin Painter (Heriot Watt University, Scotland)

  • Math Biology Seminar, U of Alberta and UBC, Oct. 20-31,

  • Gail Wolkowicz (McMaster)

  • UVic and UBC, Dec. 1-5, 2006

  • William Kath(Northwestern University)

  • PIMS/IAM Distiguished lecturer, Joint UBC-SFU lectures (UBC and SFU)

  • Peter Arbenz (ETH), Visiting Math/CS at UBC

  • SCAIM lecture.

Visitors associated with the Vancouver biophysics retreat:

  • Joe Howard, Director, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden.

  • Kazuhiko Kinosita Jr., Professor, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan.

Upcoming Visitors (dates tentative)

  • Jim Keener , Distinguished Professor, University of Utah - 1-2 week in Aug. 2007, seminar/mini-course at UBC and joint seminar UBC/SFU.

  • Frank Julicher, Director, Dept of Biological Physics, Max Planck Institute for Complex Systems, Dresden. - 1-2 weeks either summer 2007 or summer 2008 seminar/mini-course at UBC/SFU.

  • Sima Setayeshgar, Assistant Professor (Physics, Indiana University)

  • Emily Stone (U. Montana) (upcoming visit, 2/07)



CRG Leaders

  • Eric Cytrynbaum (UBC)
  • Daniel Coombs (UBC)
  • Rachel Kuske (UBC)
  • Pauline van den Driessche (UVic)
  • Eirikur Palsson (SFU)
  • Ed Munro (UW).

Faculty from PIMS member universities

  • SFU - Fiona Brinkman, Eirikur Palsson, Bob Russell, Steve Ruuth, John Stockie, Jeff Williams, Ralf Wittenberg.
  • UA - Gerda deVries, Thomas Hillen, Jack Tuszinski.
  • UBC - Neil Balmforth, Fred Brauer, Daniel Coombs, Eric Cytrynbaum, Michael Doebeli, Jimmy Feng, Leah Keshet, Rachel Kuske, Yue-Xian Li, Anthony Peirce, Babak Pourbohloul, Lawrence Ward, Michael Ward, Brian Wetton.
  • UVic - Pauline van den Driessche.
  • UW - Carl Bergstrom, John Mittler, Victoria Foe, Ed Munro, Garrett Odell. (Friday Harbor Labs)

Faculty from other institution members

Rustom Antia (Emory), Anders Carlsson (Washington University, St. Louis), Bard Ermentrout (Pittsburgh), Michael Gilchrist (Tennessee), Alex Mogilner (University of California, Davis), David Odde (University of Minnesota), George Oster (University of California, Berkeley), Alan Perelson (Los Alamos), Tom Pollard (Yale University), Lindi Wahl (Western Ontario).

Postdoctoral Fellows

Peter Borowski (PDF at UBC, Oct. 2006-2008)